first graphic

Board Home

The Elko County Board of Commissioners created the Enhanced 911 Board by Ordinance 2016-03, Bill C, approved September 7, 2016 and which created a surcharge (pursuant to NRS 244A.7641 - 244A.7647) on telecommunications to pay for Enhanced 911 services in Elko County. 

On February 1, 2017 Ordinance 2017-01, Bill A was adopted to expand the 5 member board to 7 members to expand representation from throughout Elko County. 

Their first task was to create a Five Year Master Plan to help guide the process of making the improvements to the 911 system and to oversee how any money for the project is allocated.  Elko County Commissioners authorize any expenditures made on this project upon recommendation for the Enhanced 911 Board.