first graphic

Local Emergency Planning Committee

Chaired by the Office of Emergency Management Manager, Lee Cabaniss, the Elko County Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) was established to monitor and inform the public about the use of hazardous chemicals in Elko County.

It is a multijurisdictional community committee composed of emergency planning specialists; higher education institutions; environmental organizations; business leaders, trade and professional associations in the chemical industry; and representatives from the media, utility companies and state and federal government agencies to facilitate all hazards emergency preparedness issues including SARA Title III, hazardous materials, and related public safety matters as determined appropriate by LEPC membership.

The committee was organized under the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA), also known as Title III of the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act (SARA) passed by congress in 1986.