first graphic

Elko County Recreation Board

The Elko County Recreation Board is authorized under Nevada Revised Statute 244A.599 and is governed by an eight-member board. The Board is comprised of representatives of the Elko County Commissioners and the incorporated cities within Elko County. The incorporated cities within Elko County are Elko, Wells, Carlin, and West Wendover.

The Board was originally established to construct and improve recreational facilities and to promote the use of such facilities within Elko County. In more recent years, the Board solicits and promotes tourism through annual grants to the incorporated cities and other nonprofit groups or associations for the holding of conventions, expositions, trade shows, entertainment, sporting events, cultural activities or similar uses to enhance the general economy of Elko County.